





Training Seminar on the IACHR and UN Systems for the Protection of Indigenous Peoples' Rights

June 3-4, 2010

List of Participants

Inter-American Commission on Human Rights

Commissioner Dinah Shelton, Rapporteur on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples,
Elizabeth Abi-Mershed, Deputy Executive Secretary
Debora Benchoam, Protection Group Coordinator and Human Rights Specialist
Federico Guzmán, Human Rights Specialist, Rapporteurship on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples.

United Nations

Professor James Anaya, UN Special Rapporteur on the Situation of Human Rights and Fundamental Freedoms of Indigenous Peoples.

Maia Campbell, Coordinator, University of Arizona Support Project for the UN Special Rapporteur.

Invitees

José Aguto – Policy Advisor, National Congress of American Indians

Martin Avery - Navajo Nation Judicial Branch, Ramah District Court

Kristyna Bishop – Social Development Specialist, IADB

Guillaume Carle - National Grand Chief, Confederation of Aboriginal Peoples of Canada

Clément Chartier - President, Metis National Council (Canada)

Jeannette Corbiere Lavell - President, Native Women's Association of Canada

Margaret Froh - President, Indigenous Bar Association of Canada

Brad Garness - Executive Director, Alaska Inter-Tribal Council

Preston Hardison – Policy Analyst, Tulalip Tribes of Washington – Natural Resources Treaty Rights Office.

Krystalyn Kinsel – Legislative Fellow, National Congress of American Indians.

Melody Kapilialoha Mackenzie– Director, Ka Huli Ao Center for Excellence on Native Hawaiian Law - William S. Richardson School of Law, University of Hawaii

Robert Miller - Professor, Lewis and Clark Law School, Portland (Oregon)

Joseph A. Myers – Executive Director, National Indian Justice Center

Angela Riley – Justice, Citizen Potawatomi Nation Supreme Court; Director, UCLA American Indian Studies Center

Priscilla Settee- Professor, University of Saskatchewan - Canada